Website begginer.

Guest Damo

Ok folks.....ive been in to pc's for a while now but mostly playing games and am quite competent on the techie side of things and now i want to build and design my own webpage.....at this, i am a complete novice!

Any one give me any hints tips/opinions, regarding software....starting points, any decent web tutorials aswell would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks Guys and Gals

Damo

By the way i realise i have mis-spelt beginner!!!!

Frontpage, if you have it as part of an MS Office suite, has to be one of the easier software solutions to use and there's not much it can't do once you get the hang of it. It's much maligned by some who obviously don't appreciate the full extent of its capabilities. Many professional web designers use it.

The important thing to remember about Frontpage is that the awful themes it ships with are all fully customizable in every way (fonts, colours, backgrounds and so on) but overall it makes things easy for you and allows database integration, Office integration and you can also use mainstream hard code (JavaScript, DHTML and similar) to pep things up a bit.

Dreamweaver is king and you can get a fully functional 30 day trial form the Macromedia website, but he learning curve is comparatively steep.

Other possibilities at the top of the scale could include Adobe GoLive, then you also have Namo Web Editor a little further down the ladder, followed by products like the excellent (and inexpensive) CoffeeCup HTML Editor.

There are lots of free HTML editors and if you get to know your code any simple text editor is all you need, but this is the hard way of doing things and all you get is cheesed off and strange looks from your friends when they find out you hard coded your site...

If you'd like some specifics, feel free to ask for further information.

A very great deal of my yearly income comes from website design and I use all the mainstream software solutions as well as my own web and programming code.