external javascript problems

I am new to javascript. I've created a basic form with HTML as

<script type="text/javascript" src="...." >

<form>

username:

password:

address:

</form>

I have created an external javascript. Now how to write code for form validation from this external javascirpt??

I've searched in many books and forums but they all provide solutions with internal js. How to write external js for form validation?

Suppose for the same form I've used CSS also like:

<div id="user_reg">

<form>

username:

password:

address:

</form>

</div>

How to write external js for form validation??

I am new to javascript. I've created a basic form with HTML as...

Very good; the easiest way to learn anything new is to have an actual task you want to implement.

I have also recently started using JavaScript, and this topic shows quite a few sample JS that I have partly developed, partly picked up on the web and modified for my needs.

Basically, JS can get elements from the HTML by either addressing them by name (when name="..." was used in the HTML tag) or by id (when id="..." was used in the HTML tag).

You do that using either

elem = document.getElementsByName('...');

or

elem = document.getElementById('...');

You can then address that elements properties (elem.value, elem.length, etc.). You can also, if you have modified anything, send it back to its original location:

document.getElementsByName('...') = elem;

or

document.getElementById('...') = elem;

Of course you can also change certain properties directly

document.getElementById('...').value = 'new value';

Google is a great help finding JS samples, or answers to specific questions you have.

One of the sites that helped me a lot (HTML, CSS, JS) during the project I mentioned earlier is http://www.w3schools.com/

Of course you can come back here and ask anytime you cannot find the answer / solution to a question.

I am new to javascript. I've created a basic form with HTML as

<form>