Default gateway

Xeon

Hi, there!

Newbie here and could use some help with the one below:

WinXP Pro SP2 client workstation;

One Ethernet network interface: 169.254.139.11, mask 255.255.0.0;

?: What is the valid reason for any networking app on this computer not functioning if the default gateway has not been specified/set up? [ LOL -> just need some theory stuff i guess, if you will ]

Tnx!

Unusual that you haven't had a response.

Most of our Networking experts are based in the USA so, because of the time difference, perhaps they haven't seen your thread yet.

Hi, there!

?: What is the valid reason for any networking app on this computer not functioning if the default gateway has not been specified/set up? [ LOL -> just need some theory stuff i guess, if you will ]

Tnx!

It would come as no surprise that any networking app on a computer which does not have a default gateway does not function. Default gateways provide a "bridge" between a client computer and another network (in most cases, the Internet).

From your link-local IP address (169.254.x.x) and your unusually large subnet mask it looks like you don't have those set up properly either. Unless you know otherwise, you should enable DHCP so that your IP address, netmask and gateway IPs are assigned automatically. Do this in the Control Panel > Network Connections > Local Area Connection > Properties > TCP/IP > Properties dialog. Then you can get a new IP by opening a command prompt (type "cmd" in the Run dialog) and typing "ipconfig /renew" without quotes. Once again this will only work on a network with a DHCP server (which is almost all of them).

Sorry for the slow response. I usually check the Networking Board a few times a day.