CD-RW Drive Changing w/ CD-R Insert

kris10

Well, I posted my "newbie" message to introduce myself and am just too darn impatient to wait to make my first post. I'm looking forward to browsing the board and reading some of the other stuff around here. B)

My first post relates to my CD-RW drive. I've never had problems with it before and usually can figure out this kind of thing on my own. It seems to be a "simple" issue but it's got me troubled. I am an amateur photographer and just recently got it through my thick skull after almost loosing everything to a crash, that I need to ALWAYS back up my stuff as soon as I upload it to my computer. Today, I got some photo's that I was going to put on a cd before I started doing my post process work but when I put in my CD-R, my drive acts like it's going to read it and then in my computer, the drive type changes from CD-RW to CD-R. I have tried different cd's of different brand to see if it might have been a bad batch of cd's with no luck. I've also refreshed the driver and restarted my computer. I also tested an install cd for Nero and a game cd of my husbands. It worked fine for both the Nero install and for the game cd. I was also able to put in a cd this morning that had been burned on another computer to get some of my other backed up work off of it with no problems. It's baffling me that it works for everything except a CD-R and I've never had any problems with it before. Any ideas on what might cause this and what I can do to fix it? I'm sitting here with photo's on my computer and I would feel much better to be able to back them up onto a cd. I will be buying a Seagate plug and play hard drive in the next two weeks but in the meantime, I'm left with this probably soon to be old fashioned method of backing up my work.

Thanks in advance for any ideas you folks can offer. Now, I'm off to browse this nifty forum... :)