batch file help

Hey guys, I got a question for ya. I'm pretty new to creating batch files and scripting and such, and I've been trying to work on a batch file that would move all the mp3s in my iTunes music directory into a single directory. The files are located here.

C:\somestuff\somemorestuff\iTunesmusic\variousartists\variousalbums\*.mp3

I'm trying to get them here.

C:\somestuff\somemorestuff\Mp3s

I tried using the copy cammand with an "*" for the \various artists and \variousalbums but that didn't work. I messed around a bit with the pipe command, but couldn't get anything to work for me. Any ideas? is this possible to do without having to list the exact path for each album?

Welcome to the Windows Forum.

Try the xcopy command instead - it is much more powerful.

Thank you very much sir.

I did try the xcopy command, using

@echo off

xcopy /s "C:\Users\myownuser\Desktop\iTunes Music\*.mp3" "C:\Users\myownuser\Desktop\Mp3s"

(the /s, as i just learned, is used to copy all sub directories, and since adding in the "*" for \variousartists \variousalbums wasn't working, i left those 2 directories out)

and it appeared to be working at first, until I checked in the \mp3s folder and found that it copied all of the sub directories as well, not just the .mp3 files like I wanted it too. I think I am closer to figuring out if there is a way to do this, and I am continuing to research it, however if anyone has any idea please let me know. It may make my life a whole lot easier =)

xcopy /t "C:\somestuff\somemorestuff\Mp3s" 
/s "C:\somestuff\somemorestuff\iTunesmusic\variousartists\variousalbums\.mp3"
"C:\somestuff\somemorestuff\Mp3s"

XCOPY won't work if a subdirectory is empty.

Try seperating the commands and not bundling them together too.

I'm not good at all with Batch Scripting but maybe that may work...

/T creates a directory structuer.

/S ....

xcopy /t "C:\somestuff\somemorestuff\Mp3s"