csrss.exe very strange problem

captnibm

Hello,

I am a French Telecomunications Engineer and I just reinstalled my personnal system with Windows 7 Pro and I found a really really strange problem.

My configuration is :

Asus P5K + Q9550

4Go GSkill 6400

Radeon HD 5850 Catalyst 10.8

Samsung Spinpoint F1

Windows 7 Pro

When I move the cursor of the mouse in the bottom/right corner of any of my screens, the process "csrss.exe" instantly use 100% of one of the core from the CPU.

I realised it while playing to an old video game like SimCity when you have to scroll with the mouse on the edge of the screen. And everytime, I was scrolling in this corner, the game started to freeze.

Then I verified that it was happening during a full screen game or over a windowed progam or just on the desktop.

The "zone" where it happens is 1cm * 1cm, exactly in the bottom/right corner and only this corner

The "csrss.exe" process use 100% of one core, only when the mouse move, and the cursor disapear. If I stop moving in the "zone", the cursor reappear and the "csrss.exe" process go back to 0%.

I stopped all my programs one by one, but the problemm was still here.

Then I reboot in safe mode and the problem wasn't here anymore.

I think this is a driver issue, but I have updated all my drivers and checked everything in the device manager and all is fine.

I enclosed a screenshot with ProcessXP.

bugcoindroit.jpg

If you can help me, it would be more than great !

Thank you,

In addition to csrss.exe being a Windows file there is also malware that apparently masquerades under the same designation.

I suggest as a first approach that you do some thorough anti-malware scans.

Thanks for your answer, I have AVG which is active since I installed Windows but I will start a scan tonight.