Switching to Linux from macOS

symakhan

Hey Guys

I am a graphics design student currently using a MacBook Pro running macOS Mojave. I have been considering switching to Linux for a while now and have researched the subject. I have concluded that Linux is more stable and efficient than macOS or Windows. I have also heard that it is more secure and less prone to viruses.

I would like to know if any of you have any experience with Linux and if so, what distribution do you recommend? I am also curious to know if there are any major differences between Linux and macOS or Windows that I should be aware of before making the switch. As you know, graphics are very important to me as I am a graphic designer, so I need to ensure that Linux can handle my design software before I switch. Currently, I am facing some performance issues on my mac which makes it hard for me to work sometimes. So before I make the switch, I need to be sure that Linux can give me the performance I need. In addition, I also want to know if there are any other benefits of using Linux that I am unaware of. And above all, where can I get coupons or promo codes for Linux?

So please let me know your thoughts on this and whether you think Linux is a good fit for me. Thanks in advance!

I've always liked Mint, its an offshoot of Ubuntu that's designed to be familiar to Windows users and is now quite easy to set up assorted hardware peripherals. I can't comment on MacOs or software as I've never used it and our expert has shuffled off this mortal coil, As to Windows software I've found it better to use Linux specific packages where possible. There is an adapter called Wine that allows Windows software to run on Linux but the results seem hugely variable, some programs work well with vine, others don't.

Main advantages, it's free as are most of the software packages. It's also possible to run a copy from a USB stick so you can evaluate it without making any irreversible changes to your hard drive.