Need Advice - What to Buy?

Mya

Greetings,

So I'm a full-time student (on a budget!) and I've been staring dreamily at the amazon kindle on the London underground every day for months. Today, my old 8gb ipod stopped working and I think it's dead for good - now I find myself in the market for a music player, and I'm keen to get away from the evil Apple Empire, so I've decided to substitute it with something else. But there's such a bewildering array out there I'm not sure where to begin deciding what to buy! Is there anything out there, affordable, which can:

1. Act as am MP3 player

2. Act as mass-storage for PDFs and/or word documents? (Preferably with the highlighting/notes function like the Kindle)

3. *Preferably* double up as a keyboard (i.e. on a touch screen) for portable typing facilities (and not a tiny one like you'd find on a blackberry - I'm a student journalist, and that size would be too slow.)

Would really appreciate it if someone could point me in the right direction!

Many thanks.

Just one point about the Kindle. It is an excellent device for straightforward reading continuous text and such like but it is far from ideal for backtracking/referencing things you have already read and not very good for short standalone items. For these other things it takes a lot of button pressing and messing about (time wasting).

For your purposes I think that a laptop would be a better option.

Note the tiny Kindle keyboard is a horror to use.

Is there nothing *less* than a laptop and *more* than the Kindle which would be smaller/more portable/cheaper? Because buying a smaller laptop (I already have one) I'd by buying a lot more than I actually want. Literally just music and PDFs, and then IF possible, being able to word process, even simplistically.

Hi Mya,