Hello Windows Forum!

I took a quick look through a few pages of discussions but could not find anything similar to the problem I am currently having. As a quick intro, I'm a professional photographer. I edit in either Lightroom or Photoshop while either listening to music or watching movies on my 2nd screen. I know watching movies while working sounds counter-productive but once you hit 1am that small distraction helps me keep on working into the wee hours!

What is happening?

My music player will either glitch or crash completely as I do work. I originally thought it was because I was running Winamp (for a blast back to 1999!), but I just installed J River Music Jukebox which can't even get one song playing. The problem seems completely restricted to music players, I can run a HD movie on my 2nd screen through VLC as I edit in Lightroom. I can also stream music online or have Chrome open while I work to no detrimental effect. Before upgrading to a SSD system drive I ran iTunes, which took around 15 minutes to boot, if at all (compared to a complete movie package in Premiere which takes around 2 minutes) It seems strange that 3 totally separate music players misbehave in the same way. I might also mention that when I edit video in Premiere Pro, I have no issues with sound, which may rule out hardware as an issue.

I work on a pretty decent desktop which I built a couple of years ago and recently upgraded with a SSD system drive. It seems crazy to me that it can't handle a simple music player. All my music is stored on one of the internal data drives, not on the SSD, but I don't think that should cause any problems.

A quick list of specs:

- 6Gb of DDR3 RAM 1600

- i7 930 Intel quad-core

- ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series (2GB graphics)

- 120GB SSD System Drive (all critical software installed here)

- 5TB internal Western Digital Green HDD (working data & backup drives)