networking newbie here

digitaldivide

hello all , i am trying to create a direct cable connection between two pc's that i have.. one a self build has an asus p4p800 mobo with onboard LAN and the other a dell has some d link nic i think . i got myself a cross crimped cable and connected the 2 and thats as far as i have got.. how to i make these 2 see each other ? i have a "local area connection" icon in control panel of both pc's but with a red x and a message under it saying network cable unplugged

i tried running the xp home and networking wizard to no effect (just tried a few settings not sure if they were right) also assigned ip of 192.168.0.1 to the self build and 192.168.0.2 to the dell but they still dont see each other! what else do i have to do ? :unsure:

yep i had my doubts about the cable , but its definitely a crossed cat5 cable. took it back to the vendor and got it checked for connectivity issues as well and it was tested ok

but i still get the network cable unplugged error :(

i think its a problem with the onboard lan on my asus mobo , plan to get a pci nic and test it out to make sure

thanks for all the replies so far and good to see a seperate board for networking which i dont think was there during my last visit

ta

THE most common reason for an unplugged cable is XP struggles with auto settings on different NIC's Look through the NIC settings and set the cards manually to 100base-TX full duplex.

In auto mode it sees 10 as not connected so up pops the error.

Also go into network connections highlight the NIC go to advanced then advanced settings and make sure TCIP is bound to the NIC's.....

Be sure to do a cold reboot after a network failure, power the computers down, wait 30 seconds, and power it back on. That can reset the hardware in a way that a warm reboot can't.

Check in Device Manager. If a yellow exclamation mark shows up, then you have an installation problem. Check for IRQ conflict

Troubleshoot with the below...