Installing another OS

JesseJ1935

I am running XP Home with SP2, and have a 160GB Maxtor H.D.

This is split into 'C' = 107GB with 95GB free, has virtually everything on it, and 'F' = 45GB with 33GB free, used for back ups, one for the whole of 'C' and the rest as weekly back ups, when its full I scrub everything and start again having first burnt the full back up to DVD's.

I would like to partition, say, 20GB of 'F' and install a Linux OS, at the moment I have the Ubuntu CD, and a Linspire CD which came free with PC Pro.

Installed are Acronis True Image and Partition Magic 8.0.

I should add that this will be a first for me, having two O.S.'s, also I've never used Linux before other than have a quick look at Ubuntu running it from the CD.

Any help/advice/suggestions will be gratefully received. I would also appreciate any instructions being kept on the simple side please.

Are you sure you want to do this?

I've often had dual boot systems in the past thinking that it would be easy to switch one to the other (which it is usually) but then you find after quite a short time one of the sytems is not being used at all and is just taking up space on your hard drive.

As your Linux is usable from CD, try using it that way until you are happy in knowing which O/S you really want. When you have decided, use either one OR the other but not have the facility for both of them.

If you put both systems on your hard drive and then you decide to dump one to gain space or whatever, it can be a problem in successfully removing the O/S you don't want.

Just my view, others may thing differently. :)

Quite frankly Pops, no, I'm not 100% sure, just thought it would be something new to play with and, hopefully, learn. I sometimes wonder why I bothered with a 160GB Hard Drive, I had big plans at the time I bought and fitted it but now I can't even remember what they were. Maybe I'm going senile in my old age.