Thread in backup forum but not in main forum?

don't ask

Very pleased you are back ! :flowers: Mysterious goings on !

Don't know if it is of any interest, but while main forum was down, I added to a thread in the Hardware Troubles section called "Printer problem - Epson", Now main forum is back that thread has disappeared from the main forum but is still on the backup forum !? :blink:

The gremlins are definitely getting to me today ! :lol:

I know nothing at all, but I would expect that the 'Backup Forum' is just a temporary facility with no direct links.

But then, I am not an expert in this field. :)

I would assume that the 'actual' backup is like any other, it is the moment in time when it was taken. It may not of course be the restore from the 'Backup Forum' which was used to re-instate the Forum after the failure.

Different databases I think!!

Indeed it is!

I know nothing at all, but I would expect that the 'Backup Forum' is just a temporary facility with no direct links.

But then, I am not an expert in this field. :)

I would assume that the 'actual' backup is like any other, it is the moment in time when it was taken. It may not of course be the restore from the 'Backup Forum' which was used to re-instate the Forum after the failure.

Just the way it is!

A backup of the database held at windowsforum.org is taken every morning at 03:00 and placed on the backup server (this then requires me to manually import the database to the backup site). I doubt their would ever be a scenario where I would be restoring the database from the backup site back to the main site; this is because restoring a the database would take time over the internet, and I still hold backups on the main server itself ready for restoration.

I knew it was an extra-special forum and so well run - I have always thought it would be taking special cares and measures - that is very evident indeed - very impressive! :flowers: