show desktop as screensaver

Nacht

Hi guise,

new here to this particular forum. I've been digging on google for some time and haven't been able to come up with a way (within my own capabilities) to do what I want. I want to have a timeout for my open windows. Say I get up from the computer for a few hours, I want all my windows open to minimize as with the show desktop button. I am not very partial to the screensavers windows comes with and one you find on the internet tend to use alot of cpu time. I know I could just have it go black or just turn off my monitor but often times I leave my computer after having done something requiring that I have a lot of windows open. In some cases I may have sensitive items open that I wouldn't want others to see or games running.

If anyone has a clue as to how I could possibly approach this I would really appreciate the help. I'm not a programmer so that option is out unless you write it for me. If it is not currently possible then don't worry about it as I am well aware of other work arounds like just having the computer lock. I know that you can minimize with a keystroke so I was thinking that maybe some program might exist to hit keystrokes under certain circumstances like inactivity but I have no idea how to go about searching for such a thing...if there is.

Thanks in advance.

Honestly, I would click the Show Desktop button before I got up if there are privacy issues, Nacht. But you mean something that would require a password or such when you return to the desktop?

Edit: I am sure there have been written several programs to effect this kind of behaviour. :unsure:

no password, just something that would minimize all windows open, leaving a pretty desktop background as opposed to the mess of things I always have open. Its not really a big deal though. I was hoping that I would help some code monkey get his jollies on making something that doesnt seem to exist atm while getting a neat gadget to suit my personal wants.