Logitech MX Revolution Review

Craig

Introduction

I've been using Logitech mice for a few years now, and when they released a new range my initial thought was "how can they improve on the MX 1000 laser mouse?!".

Well today I took the plunge and splashed out on this 'designer' mouse.

The Setup

As I already had the latest version of the Logitech SetPoint software installed, all I needed to do was inset the USB dongle into the PC and connect the charging base station to the power adapter.

All as easy as pie!

I launched the SetPoint software and the MX Revolution was already select, and wow are their loads of settings to play with.

Because I'm a bit tight on time, I will save talking you through all the settings, and instead attach all the screen shots of the software so you can see for yourself.

What's New?

Scroll Wheel - At last a scroll wheel I like. This time it doesn't just do line by line scrolling, but if you want it to it will scroll as far and as fast as you can flick it! (with one quick flick, I was able to get it to scroll 9,881 lines in excel). Although this seems a bit over kill, it does make scrolling up and down at Windows Forum a lot quicker!

Alt Tab Replacement - The thumb wheel does a very good job, and unlike its free spinning brother, this wheel is sprung loaded to return it to the centre after you have pushed it forward or pulled it back with your thumb. You can press the wheel in to call up the alt tab menu, or just push it forward / pull it back. The first time I personally saw this feature was with my MX 1000, but I never used it. Now it is located right next to my thumb I can see myself using this more often.

Search - A nice little button on top of the mouse allows one click search functionality. You can set this so it either pulls up the Windows search dialog, or my personal favourite, take you to a search engine of your choice.