Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Just lately system restore fails, Any ideas from the experts please. Windows 10 and firefox.

Since the last but one Windows update mine does the same - it spends 5 minutes pretending to restore then tells me restore has failed.  Google has proved to be unhelpful on this occasion.

It's no great loss - if push comes to shove - Acronis works every time.

By the way - I answered your post even though I'm no expert. I hope you don't mind. :whistling:

20 minutes ago, AlanHo said:

Since the last but one Windows update mine does the same - it spends 5 minutes pretending to restore then tells me restore has failed.  Google has proved to be unhelpful on this occasion.

It's no great loss - if push comes to shove - Acronis works every time.

By the way - I answered your post even though I'm no expert. I hope you don't mind. :whistling:

I’ll let you off just this once. :hi:

1. Silly question, but have you checked to make sure that System Restore is actually turned on ? - the half yearly (Fall/Creators etc.) updates seem to turn it off by default.

2. Have you run a Disk Cleanup (including System Files) recently ?  This may take an hour (plus) getting rid of your old Windows versions.

Mine is turned on - it was the first thing I did after reading about the problem and solution on the web. I also did an error check of the C: drive. I don't have an old version of Windows 10 lurking on the drive - it was a clean install on a brand new SSD.

I can force a restore point - but it does not do it automatically.