My very first attempt

djohn

Well guys, I’ve finally decided to have a website. I’ve used FrontPage in design and code view to learn as I go along. Spent the past two weeks on it and its not very good, [better in I.E. than Firefox at the moment] as I.E. shows the colours of the table borders, Firefox does not. but it is the first time I've tried anything like this.

Its all been a whole different world to me and most of the time I might as well have been trying to learn quantum physics! With a lot of encouragement and tips from my mate, cycoze I managed to get the thing working as well as understanding what I was doing. Its my very first attempt at anything like this and though there is still a lot of work to do, I‘m now enjoying it because I have an idea of what I’m doing.

I reached the stage of the contact page and though I was doing everything right in constructing and linking it, even uploaded it to the site but it would not work because I had used the wrong type of file.

I spent 3 days this week tearing my hair out then admitted defeat, asked cy to have a look at it for me, I really had reached the end of my knowledge and no amount of searching/reading would tell me why the form was correct but would not work. Cy went into my site control panel, spotted the error immediately and fixed it for me. Cy then phoned me late last night to explain what he had done and gave me instructions to back it up to my local drive, second partition, second drive and a disk.

I did this straight away then decided to upload a few photos to play around with. Uploaded from FrontPage and saved ‘ALL’ this of course overwrote what cy had done for me and I was back at square one. I was totally drained, it was 2am and I didn’t know how to fix it. I could not ask cy to do it all over again so went to bed at 3am.