i have had enough - goodbye Linux welcoming back XP

so a few weeks ago i purchased an Acer Aspire one netbook with Linux Linpus lite as preinstalled OS

i have tried to adjust, i have given it a chance but the installs are unnecessarily troublesome and i am fed up with not being able to use the programs that i am used to from windows or mac

my plea is that i would like to wipethe hardrive of the previous OS linpus lite and reinstall windows XP professional

that is where the problem begins, the thing with netbooks, as great as they are they have no CD rom drive so it leaves me unable to install by CD, i have obtained a batch of files containing windows XP proffesional and i know its possible to install via booted USB but i have no idea which files need to be on the USB boot folder

i probably seem like a complete noob but linux really has killed my mind, if anybody knows any easier ways to wipe linux and reinstall xp by USB or other means then please let me know

any help would be greatly appreciated, i just want to return to good old familiar XP or vista

Welcome to the Windows Forum.

A modern computer without a CD-ROM drive - never heard of such a thing... Or does it have a DVD drive? I am sure that you can obtain Windows on a DVD.

i have obtained a batch of files containing windows XP pro...

I don't know how you "obtained" these files; please explain. We will not be able to help with illegal or pirated software of any kind.

I too have an Acer Aspire One netbook loaded with Linpus Lite but only use it for internet browsing and Emails when I am away from home - so am happy with the OS. I happen to own an external USB DVD drive which I used to reinstall the OS after it became corrupted by a curious meddling grandchild.

It is true that the computer lacks an optical drive - but as you say - it will boot from a USB memory stick if set to do so in the BIOS.